jump to navigation

Promoting a Culture of Safety Featured Symposium at Heart Rhythm 2012 March 12, 2012

Posted by Kathleen Blake, MD, MPH, FHRS in Cardiac Rhythm Management, Scientific Sessions.
Tags: ,

At Heart Rhythm 2012 in Boston, Bruce L. Wilkoff, MD, FHRS, CCDS and Paul Varosy, MD, FHRS will host a featured symposium on the fundamentals of transforming intraprocedural heart rhythm care to a culture that promotes patient safety

The session will feature a live, interactive simulation designed to teach “safety behavior”  that is grounded in teamwork and systems, and also:

  • values and empowers colleagues
  • leads by example
  • searches for improvement opportunities

The symposium will begin with an introduction to the fundamentals of a culture of safety from a Saul Weingart, MD, Ph.D., a national expert on reducing the burden of medical errors.

After Dr. Weingart sets the stage, Jeffrey Cooper, Ph.D., a pioneer in medical simulation, will guide colleagues through a role play of effective and ineffective ways to speak up in order to prevent a medical error.

An electrophysiologist and his colleague, who is an allied health professional, will simulate a scenario in which there is a potential radiation safety problem that will occur unless someone speaks up. The simulation will illustrate how a patient safety problem could become increasingly dangerous in the absence of teamwork.

After the medical simulation, the program will close with a call to action from an internationally recognized leader in the patient safety movement, Lucian Leape, MD, MPH. Dr. Leape, often referred to as the father of patient safety, will deliver a message on taking the next steps to carry the culture of safety into the EP lab. His call to action has resonated with clinicians for decades.

This program, session #143, will be held on Thursday May 10th from 10:30 a.m. to noon. The Advanced Online Program Guide for Heart Rhythm 2012 is available at http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/gfb/heartrhythm2012/#/12

Kathy Blake, MD, MPH, FHRS
Chair, Health Policy Committee


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

%d bloggers like this: